Global News is projecting voters in Nanaimo have given Mayor Leonard Krog a second term within the 2022 B.C. municipal election.

Joining Krog on council, Global News projects, might be former Green Party MP Paul Manly, who made history because the second-ever Green candidate elected to the House of Commons before his defeat in 2021.

Also elected are incumbents Sheryl Armstrong, Ben Geselbracht, Ian Thorpe, Erin Hemmens and Tyler Brown, in addition to newcomers Janice Perino and Hilary Eastmure, Global News projects.



Tasha Brown

Brunie Brunie

Leonard E. Krog (incumbent)

Agnes Provost


Jeff Annesley

Sheryl Armstrong (incumbent)

Ken Bennett

Don Bonner (incumbent)

Tyler Brown (incumbent)

Paul P. (Joseph Paul) Chapman

Hilary Eastmure

Ben Geselbracht (incumbent)

Nick Greer

Derek D. (Robert Derek) Hanna

Mike Hartlaub

Erin Hemmens (incumbent)

Gary Korpan

Jay Krishan

Shirley Lambrecht

Peter Lee

Zeni Maartman (incumbent)

Alan MacDonald

Paul Manly

Janice Perrino

Frank Pluta

Peter Poole

Michael Ribicic

Norman Smith

Robb Squire

Viraat B. (Balakrishna) Thammanna

Ian Thorpe (incumbent)

Corey Trinkwon

David Wang

Population of municipality

99,863 (2021)

Boundary of the municipality

Nanaimo is positioned on southeastern Vancouver Island, right across the water from Gabriola Island. It’s situated between Nanoose Bay and Ladysmith, and is just over 100 kilometres from Victoria.

This profile will continually be updated to reflect the newest information, interviews and events within the campaign.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here