Winnipeg’s latest mayor has named town councillors who will make up his executive policy committee (EPC).

Scott Gillingham said  Wednesday his inner circle will include North Kildonan Coun. Jeff Browaty, Waverly West Coun. Janice Lukes, St. Vital Coun. Brian Mayes, River Heights-Fort Garry Coun. John Orlikow, and Fort Rouge-East Fort Garry Coun. Sherri Rollins.

Each of the five councillors will even chair certainly one of council’s standing policy committees.

Browaty will head up Finance & Economic Development, Lukes will chair Public Works, Mayes will lead Water, Waste & Environment, Orlikow will chair Community Services, and Rollins will lead Property & Development.

The brand new six-member EPC (five councillors plus the mayor) follows up on a promise Gillingham made during last month’s municipal election to drop one member from the committee.

The seventh EPC seat was eliminated by consolidating the Standing Policy Committee on Finance with the previous Innovation & Economic committee.

Gillingham was sworn in as Winnipeg’s forty fourth mayor Tuesday following his Oct. twenty sixth election win.

He vowed to work with all of council Wednesday.

“I ran for mayor on a commitment to unifying council to construct a stronger Winnipeg,” Gillingham said in a release.

“I thank these councillors for agreeing to tackle these leadership roles, but I stay up for working in collaboration with all councillors as we make progress on coping with critical issues like safety, homelessness, infrastructure and improving city services.”

Gillingham also announced Wednesday Lukes will function deputy mayor and St. Norbert Coun. Markus Chambers will sit as each acting deputy mayor and the chair of the Winnipeg Police Board.

The brand new mayor said nominations and appointments to numerous agencies, boards, commissions, and council liaison positions will probably be made as a part of an organizational meeting of council scheduled for Nov. 9.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here