Canada Green Building Council honours green building innovators at 2012 Leadership Awards

#cagbcconf12  @CaGBC

Canada’s green building
innovators were in the spotlight at the Fairmont Royal York, as the Canada Green
Building Council (CaGBC) honoured the 2012 Leadership Awards recipients as a
part of the 2012 CaGBC National Conference & Expo.

The CaGBC National Conference, taking place this year from June 11-13 at the
Metro Toronto Convention Centre, is the largest green building event in Canada
each year. It includes a large expo floor and over 30 accredited education
sessions, as well as a number of expert speakers. This year’s theme Beyond
Buildings: The Green City is exploring how to implement sustainable design,
building and operations on a city scale, and based on a broad set of issues
critical for a healthy environment and better quality of life for Canadians.

“Every year the Council recognizes individuals and organizations that show
outstanding leadership in the industry, and who have made a significant
contribution to the CaGBC’s mission and goals in advancing green building in
Canada,” said Thomas Mueller, President and CEO, Canada Green Building Council.
“While we honour these exceptional individuals, I’d also like to congratulate
all the nominees – their collective contributions to the green building movement
in Canada are laying the groundwork for significant positive environmental
impacts in the years ahead.”

The winners of the 2012 Leadership Awards are:

  • Andy Kesteloo Memorial Student Project AwardPresented
    by: Thomas Mueller, President and CEO of the Canada Green Building
    Winner: Simon VanGrootheest
    Simon VanGrootheest was instrumental
    in the development of The Urban Greenhouse, a project based in Vancouver that
    envisions an urban agricultural facility that could produce food sustainably at
    a neighbourhood scale.
  • CaGBC Academic Leadership AwardPresented by: Thomas
    Mueller, President and CEO of the Canada Green Building Council
    Algonquin College
    Algonquin College developed a vision for the creation of an
    integrated learning and applied research environment at Algonquin College, which
    resulted in the Algonquin Centre for Construction Excellence (ACCE), a 190,000
    sq ft uniquely green and architecturally iconic learning centre, located at the
    Ottawa Campus.
  • CaGBC Emerging Green Builder AwardPresented by: Thomas
    Mueller, President and CEO of the Canada Green Building Council
    Winner: Aaron
    Aaron is currently finishing his Master’s Thesis in City Planning at
    the University of Manitoba on Sustainable Campus Design, and shows a strong
    commitment to the green building industry. He founded the University of
    Manitoba’s Sustainable Campus Student Group, is the CaGBC Manitoba Chapter’s
    student representative, and has recently been inducted into the International
    Institute for Sustainable Development’s Sustainability Leaders Program.
  • Government Leadership AwardPresented by: Lisa Bate,
    Chair, CaGBC Board of Directors
    Winner: Infrastructure
    Infrastructure Ontario (IO) is a Crown corporation dedicated to
    building and renewing public infrastructure in Ontario and has had a commitment
    to green building and LEED since 2007/08. IO is currently managing more than 15
    million square feet in green building construction across the province.
  • The CaGBC Volunteer Leadership AwardPresented by: Mark
    Lucuik, Vice-Chair, CaGBC Board of Directors
    Winner: Sue Clark
    Sue Clark
    has been extensively involved in green building in Canada since 2006, and has
    worked tirelessly to contribute to and improve the LEED brand in Canada. She has
    also volunteered for numerous CaGBC initiatives, including the Emerging Green
    Builders, the National Capital Green Building Association, and the LEED 2009
    Submittals Taskforce, the GBCI Focus Group.
  • The CaGBC Chapter Leadership AwardPresented by: Andrew
    McAllan, Senior Vice President and Managing Director, Oxford Properties
    Winner: John Crace
    John Crace is a founding member and current chair
    of the Atlantic Chapter of the Canada Green Building Council, and has been
    committed to the CaGBC since 2003 when he became one of Canada’s first LEED
    Accredited Professionals. He has demonstrated outstanding success in advancing
    green building and sustainable community practices in Atlantic Canada; his
    “super green” Joggins Fossil Centre is a landmark of sustainable architecture in
    Atlantic Canada.
  • The CaGBC Green Building Champion AwardPresented by:
    Bill Galloway, Senior Vice President, Holcim Canada
    Winner: Vivian
    Vivian Manasc is Senior Principal of Manasc Isaac Architects, and has
    been a tireless advocate for green buildings in her own practice and in her
    community for more than two decades. She was also a founding Board member of
    CaGBC in 2002. She was also recently appointed to the National Capital
    Commission Advisory Committee on Planning, Design and Realty.
  • The CaGBC Industry Leadership AwardPresented by:
    Michael McSweeney, President and CEO, Cement Association
    Winner: Gord
    Under the leadership of Gord Hicks, BLJC has become a leading firm in
    sustainable approaches to property and workplace management. He is committed to
    supporting the real estate industry in operating at the highest environmental
    standards, which is evident through his terms as a member of the CaGBC Board of
    Directors from May 2007-2010. In April 2008, Gord became one of 275 Certified
    Canadian Presenters of Al Gore’s “The Climate Project”, and in 2009 also joined
    the Board of that project.
  • The CaGBC Lifetime Achievement AwardPresented by:
    Thomas Mueller, President & CEO of the Canada Green Building
    Winner: Kevin Hydes
    Kevin Hydes is internationally recognized as a
    leader in sustainable design, and for his contributions to the building
    industry. As the former President and CEO of Keen Engineering, and Vice
    President of Stantec over the past decade he has gained a reputation as an
    innovator, pioneer, and green business leader. Kevin served as the Chair of the
    USGBC for 2005-2006, and was a founder and director of the Canada Green Building
    Council from 2003 to 2010. He also chaired the World Green Building Council


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here